So much to do, so little time

I start this blog on the day that would have been my dear mother’s 87th birthday. Unfortunately she has been gone for eighteen years, but she has become the family saint. We all cherish her memory with love and respect.

While she was still with us, I honestly found her a bit dull, which is a terrible thing to say about a saint. Looking back, she did everything right. She was a nurse and loved her job. Her patients loved her. She followed all the latest advice about healthy food, exercised regularly and only had an occasional glass of wine. She didn’t believe in evil and thought that everyone else was as friendly as she was. All this righteousness was of course utterly tedious for someone who can’t get it right.

Most important, however, is the fact that she gave unconditional love. That was her real forte. She had so much compassion in her heart and those of us she touched still benefit from it to this day.

Despite all this she died far too young, she was only 69. When she was dying she told me she wasn’t ready to go yet, there was still so much to do. That is what I really learnt from her – to seize the day.  I am nowhere close to being a goodie-goodie like her. But I do live life here and now and I do enjoy it.

Every day when I wake up I’m one day older. Thank God for that! I have been given a little more time to do all those things I want to do.

2 thoughts on “So much to do, so little time

    1. Hi Jona, thanks for getting in touch. You can reach me by using the contact form, which you get to by clicking the menu symbol top right of this site. (Three horisontal lines) Looking forward to hearing from you! Helen

      Like

Leave a Reply

